Ready for Russia?

It’s already October 15, and Russian Reading Month begins in just over two weeks’ time! Completely unrelated, but in November I’ll also be reading Wolf Hall with Claire, if anyone wants to join.

We have a cosy group so far, for next month:

  • Jackie from jackiemania – The Brothers Karamazov, Dostoevsky
  • Claire from kiss a cloud – Dead Souls, Gogol; Doctor Zhivago, Pasternak
  • ‘vernzap’ – Brothers Karamazov, possibly Master and Margarita or Anna Karenina
  • Bellezza from Dolce Bellezza – Master and Margarita, Bulgakov
  • Rachel from Resistance is Futile – Pale Fire, Vladimir Nabokov
  • Alex from Alex in Leeds – A Russian Gentleman, Sergei Aksakov
  • Myself – Dead Souls, Nikolai Gogol (biography by Nabokov), Master and Margarita
  • Andrew Blackman, who will be following the event (not sure if he’ll be reading along)

Currently in the process of hunting down stories for Short Story Week, for those interested in participating, but wanting to stick to something light/short.

I may also try to squeeze in The Brothers Karamazov if I have time. Over stretching myself? Hardly. I finish my final semester of uni – well, until I begin postgrad studies anyway – this very week, so I’ll have hour after hour to devote to summer reading in November. Just have to get my final batch of essays and exams over and done with. Cannot wait.

Sign-ups are open until the end of this month, so just comment below if you’re interested!

17 thoughts on “Ready for Russia?

  1. Oh, how I love Russian literature. I took a class at Toronto University this summer on Dostoevsky’s The Idiot, and led a group read of The Brothers Karamazov a few years ago. Not to mention the reread of Anna Karenina I just completed this weekend. I acquired The Master and Margarita this summer, now I’m wondering if I have the time to read it in November. We’re committed to Norwegian Wood, but that isn’t long…does your Russian read month just mean one signs up to read a Russian work of one’s choice?

    1. Yes, please do join us, it’ll be lovely to have you along! Norwegian Wood is quite a slim novel, as you say, so I’m sure it won’t take long ;)

      There are three options:

      Option 1: Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita
      Option 2: Dead Souls by Gogol (accompanied by Vladimir Nabokov’s biography, ‘Nikolai Gogol’)
      Option 3: Any work of Russian literature. The whole point is to read Russian literature, lots of it, all month long!

      Most have taken up Option 3!

        1. No, I’m in. Even if I have to erase other titles from my list. I’m crazy about Russian literature (and Japanese!). I’m reading The Master and Margarita as I bought it in Toronto this summer, and it comes so very highly recommended. Looking forward to sharing with you all! xoxoxo

          1. Same! For me, though, they’re always things I’ve been really curious about but only recently started reading into… I’m making good progress with Russian novels, but I haven’t read much Japanese at all – which is why I signed up for your challenge ;)

    1. Hi Sean :)
      That’s quite interesting. I’m assuming ‘Gold’ would be the grand 19th century masters such as Tolstoy etc… and ‘Silver’ the early 20th century?? Or do both those eras pre-date that period?
      I’m stuck in the more modern works as well, at the moment because they’re what fascinate me most to be honest!

  2. I am little late joining in but as I’m currently reading Victor Serge’s “Conquered City” it seems churlish not to join in or follow what you’re doing at least! Lovely idea for a reading month – I do love Russian literature.

Leave a Reply

