Russian Reading Month

A short update on the event I’m hosting at The Classics Club in November. I’ve been terribly unorganized with this thing, changing my mind about the details at least twenty times over the past month or so. But here it is, in its final form, more or less:

Novel Readalong (the first two are my personal choices, which you’re welcome to read along with, but really, anything Russian is fine)

  • Option 1: Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita
  • Option 2: Dead Souls by Gogol (accompanied by Vladimir Nabokov’s biography, ‘Nikolai Gogol’)
  • Option 3: Any work of Russian literature. The whole point is to read Russian literature, lots of it, all month long! :)

Short Story week: a week dedicated solely to the reading of Russian short story classics (mid-late 19th century to Soviet era). I will be posting link to online stories and also providing title suggestions. Highly recommend the Penguin edition of Russian Short Stories from Pushkin to Buida (which you can get here).

Proposed schedule:

  • 1 Nov – 10 Nov: The Master and Margarita, Bulgakov
  • 12 Nov to 18 Nov: Short Story week
  • 11-30 Nov: Dead Souls, Gogol and ‘Nikolai Gogol‘ by Nabokov

There’s not going to be any Mister Linky, so this is pretty much the sign-up post. Comment below (with any titles you’re thinking of reading) if you’d like to participate!

Book Depository links: Master and Margarita / Dead Souls / Nikolai Gogol

27 thoughts on “Russian Reading Month

  1. Can we read any Russian lit to be part of the event? I was thinking November would be a great month for a reread of The Brothers Karamazov and being part of an event helps with goal sticking, I find!

        1. Yay, so glad to have you along for the ride. Now you’ve got me wanting to read The Brothers Karamazov as well – I’ve actually never read it! :)

          p.s. hope the updated post is a little clearer!

  2. The Master and Margarita–I read that last year for an Honors Russian Lit course. It is an awesome book. I’m very glad to see it on this list.

    1. Nice :) What else did you cover in the course? I’m so lazy, I’ve been meaning to read more Russian, but I’ve only ever gotten around to a few Tolstoys and some short stories.

      I’m an IR/Political Theory major myself so Lit students always fascinate me… haha you guys seem to inhabit such a different world

      1. Shoof. We read a lot for that course–too much, probably. We read some Pushkin, including Eugene Onegin. Then we read some of Gogol’s short stories. Then Anna Karenina. The Master and Margarita. A bunch of Chekov stories. Dostoyevsky–both Notes from Underground and The Brothers Karamazov. Finally (I think), One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Solzhenitsyn.

        Haha believe me, to the us Lit majors, you IR/Political Theory majors seem to inhabit a very different world also. Not as different as, say, a Math major, but still.

    1. Haha I don’t even think I’ll do a Mr Linky or anything. Later on, I’ll probably write up another post with a list of links to whoever’s participating and what they’re reading… and you don’t really need to be a part of the club either. It’s being hosted for that project, but it’s really not anything formal! :)

      Sooo if you want in, you’re already in (pretty much)

            1. By the way, I was looking for The Classics Club on Rebecca’s blog but couldn’t find it. If this is The Classics Club that she started then I might have participated before, I’m not sure, I forget, but I know I followed the posts there. Was I gone that long? :D

  3. I’ll definitely follow this event – I loved both the novels you’ll be reading, Dead Souls and The Master and Margarita. For anyone looking for an introduction to Russian literature I can heartily recommend Russian Short Stories from Pushkin to Buida, a collection that has something from most of the big names in Russian literature, along with some less well-known writers. Glad I found your site (through Claire’s)!

    1. Great, I’ll put you down on the list! :)
      Looks like Dead Souls and Brothers Karamazov will be the main reads

Leave a Reply

