A New Start

It’s a great day for new beginnings, and wonderful books :)

To be honest, this year hasn’t been spectacular for me in terms of my so-called ‘reading life’ (this is a convenient term, but really, how do you separate your life into ‘compartments’ and block out literature from the other parts?) and that’s why I’m really excited about the Kristin Lavransdatter readalong which begins in two days! Or three? Something like that, anyway. It’ll be v. encouraging to have other readers pushing me along, I think.

I love how readalongs are popping up all over the litblogsphere. Of particular noteworthiness is the recent Infinite Jest readalong over at Infinite Summer. I haven’t read the book yet, but I like the idea of it, and I liked reading the blog. Oh, and as I mentioned before, The New Yorker blog has also begun their own series of readalongs. I think in October, they’ll be reading Bram Stroker’s Dracula. But those are the literary giants of blogworld. Within our own  circle of blogs there have been magnificent Proust readalongs, and 2666 readalongs, and Lolita readalongs, and even Twilight readalongs (shudder).

Before now I’ve been much too frightened of reading schedules and plans to actually commit to anything, but I’m going to try and be optimistic about this :)

