Birthday

It’s been exactly a year since I began this blog, and in hindsight, I’ve come a long way. While I’ve learnt a lot, and read a lot, and enjoyed writing about the books I’ve read, I also feel that I’ve lost some of the original inspiration with which I began tuesday in silhouette. For this reason, I dug out Alberto Manguel’s A Reading Diary: A Year of Favourite Books a few days ago, and I’ve been reading Manguel’s journal entries alongside Middlemarch.

What’s funny is that I think I held a false memory in my mind for the past year, because it’s not the way I remember it. Neither is Virginia Woolf’s diary, which I’m also currently re-reading. They’re not less inspirational; merely different. It’s why I enjoy re-reading books – every experience offers something new.

Anyway, in the year ahead, I’ll probably be spending more time away from this blog. Not only because I have less time to read but also so I’ll be able to take the time to consider the value of the books that I read. To contemplate more deeply how literature and life are intertwined. To appreciate how words are wrought into sentences, and sentences into paragraphs, and paragraphs into breathing, living works of art. Blogs are inevitably time-draining, fast-paced things and right now I’m all for slowing down.

13 thoughts on “Birthday

  1. I’m with Eva — I understand the break from blogging. But I’ll still miss you! I hope you enjoy your year of school and slow reading. And I’ll stay subscribed to your feed to see when you do come back here.

  2. That’s a good way to go, Tuesday, even though I’ll miss you, too, like Rebecca. I had two slow reading years, the past two years, and this is my year of catching up. Will probably slow down again after the challenges, as I do not plan on doing them next year at all. I’ll also keep checking for when you post (hopefully, once in a while). One of these days I’ll read Manguel’s reading diary.. I found The Library at Night in the used bookshop. Enjoy your slow reading and living. :D

  3. Put me down as another person who supports your decision, but will continue to keep an eye out for your intermittent resurfacing. For me, reading is all about pleasure (even if I’m reading Dickens, I want to enjoy it), so if you feel the blog is causing you to race through your books or is mitigating your ability to linger over a text and really absorb it, then I can certainly understand the need to take a step back. This is partially why I write about other non-bookish things on my site! I simply can’t read fast enough to update in that realm every day (I envy those that can), and I have learned to be ok with that. I write about books when I feel like it, and I also write entries that mean something to me, and that helps me out quite a bit.

  4. Happy bloggiversary! I respect your decision, knowing sometime my blogging and reading can be off balance. Now that I have incorporated blog posting into my routine, I try to get it over with in the morning, before I’m reading. Then I’ll revise the draft later before posting. I’ll drop by from time to time to read your latest. :)

  5. “o appreciate how words are wrought into sentences, and sentences into paragraphs, and paragraphs into breathing, living works of art.”

    Love this sentence!

    I don’t blame you, Tuesday. I was thinking of taking a mini-vacation as I read Heart of Darkness. It takes a quite a bit of concentration in order to fully enjoy and appreciate. Sometimes I feel like the need to update my blog takes precedent over my enjoyment of the books I reading, and that’s a real shame.

    Enjoy your time off. Enjoy your books. I will miss you, though.

  6. That makes sense. Although I have fun thinking about what and how I’ll share with people on the blog, I definitely find that I feel more pressure to read and finish books so I can get on with it and post, and it’s not really a feeling I am enjoying. I’ll be keeping you in my blog list, though, and continuing to visit, as I enjoy your thoughts when you do get the chance to post them!

  7. Happy first bloggiversary!

    I agree one of the joys of re-reading is finding something new each time.

    I hope you won’t stop blogging completely, but can relate to feeling a blog is time-draining and fast paced, which then affects your reading.

  8. Hey, the blog is looking really beautiful. Congratulations on your first year. I agree this blogging thing can be draining..its about learning to find balance and following your passions in the moment…good luck

Leave a Reply

