Eeny Meeny Miney Mo

Catch a tiger by his toe…

At first, I attempted to flit between all four like an overzealous butterfly, but my mind can’t focus with so many books before me. It’s a nice sort of dilemma, I must admit. I’ll probably end up reading Anna Karenina first, because (as silly as it sounds) I have to read it before winter comes, but polls are such fun.

Two finished books and no reviews.

Ever since I returned from Melbourne I’ve become quite lazy. It’s been almost a week since I put down Tess of the D’Urbervilles, and yet I haven’t really gathered my thoughts together. I should have taken proper notes as I read, but I was so caught up in the story, and so tired from travelling, that I couldn’t be bothered to do anything more than jot down quotes. Finished Atwood’s Alias Grace earlier today; will probably post a review by tomorrow, or Wednesday at the very latest. Even this post was meant to be for Sunday Salon – before I knew it I was waking up to a bright and gloriously sunny Monday.

Procrastination feels so sweet and justified in this drowsy weather. I’m not in the garden today because I would be baked like a lobster, but I can hear bird-song and cicadas and the hum of a faraway plane through the open window. There’s no denying it; summer is the very best month.

6 thoughts on “Eeny Meeny Miney Mo

  1. I haven’t heard of the first two on your list, but I loved Canterbury Tales when I read it two years ago. Anna Karenina is also very, very good.

    We had a brief flash of summer yesterday with a high of 72 degrees, and I loved being out in the hammock. Natural light is always the best light to read by, in my opinion. But, today, it was back to being winter. Texas weather is so fickle.

    1. Well, that’s my problem – they’re all great books. I’ve got a foot stuck in each of them (and two hands, as well, seeing as I’ve only got two feet). I’ve read the General Prologue of the Chaucer, the first story of Unaccustomed Earth, and few chapters of the Tolstoy and Soul Mountain.

      And yes, I agree that natural light is the best to read by, which is why I love the garden; but today it’s so so hot. Ugh, yes, fickle weather here too. Goes from cold to sunny to rainy to hailstorm to sun again, all in one day.

  2. Oh, how I miss summer! It’s SO COLD.

    I’ve never heard of Soul Mountain. Lahiri’s book is in my TBR and I read Anna Karennina a few years ago and enjoyed it. Someday I’ll also get to Canterbury Tales. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

    1. Hahah, I’m loving summer here, but I do envy you your white Christmases. It never quite feels like Christmas here…

      Looks like Anna Karenina’s winning :)

  3. It’s a tough choice for me because I would have told you to read all four! But judging from my bias, you probably know which one I have voted for.

    Soul Mountain is a very interesting book. The alternating chapters are written in second person. I would say much about the unfolding of the book because trying to make sense out of the narratives is the crust of understanding and appreciating the book.

    1. I will read all four eventually; I just couldn’t decide which of the four to start with!
      And yes, I think I can guess which one you voted for, hahah. I’ve read the first five or so chapters, and I’m enjoying it very much. Reading it in summer does make a difference :)

Leave a Reply

