On Hiatus / Merry Christmas

This Christmas I’m going down to Melbourne for a week, and I decided I might as well take a break from this blog until the 1st of January, 2009 31st of December (so I can squeeze a few more reviews in before the new year comes).

The last few days have been lovely. That’s not to say the weather hasn’t been swinging tempestuously from hot to cold, but yesterday we ‘harvested’ this year’s first batch of cherry tomatoes from our vegetable garden, which means summer has well and truly arrived.

I wanted to post a review of Divisadero before leaving, but I’m only halfway in. I suppose it can wait until after I get back. Oh, and I haven’t yet decided what I’ll be taking with me to Melbourne. Divisadero, for sure, but I think I’ll also take:

  • Unaccustomed Earth
  • Tess of the D’Urbervilles
  • The Canterbury Tales

That should be enough to (quite safely) last me a week. We’re taking the car, so I can just haul them all into the boot anyway. In that case, I might take Atwood’s Alias Grace as well. And of course there’s The Pearl, by John Steinbeck, which I purchased last week. Six books for six days – and I won’t even have much time to read!

Edit: I’ve decided I’ll only be taking Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Alias Grace; the books are much heavier than I thought they would be!

I hope everyone has a wonderful – and meaningful – Christmas. To those who have left comments on my posts, thank you for visiting my blog and taking an interest in what I have to say. And thank you so much for inspiring me to be a more open-minded person. Through you, I’ve discovered many great writers and books, and I look forward to reading them in the year ahead.

See you all in 2009!

4 thoughts on “On Hiatus / Merry Christmas

  1. I’m looking forward to reading your comments on The Canterbury Tales.

    Happy New Year! You’ll be among the first who see the first ray of light in 09!

Leave a Reply

