Time is of the Essence

This week’s Booking Through Thursday:

1. Do you get to read as much as you WANT to read?

2. If you had (magically) more time to read–what would you read? Something educational? Classic? Comfort Reading? Escapism? Magazines?

Surprisingly, yes. I do get to read as much as I want. I actually maximise my reading time, and enjoy reading much more when I’m extremely busy. Currently, I’m on a long five-month holiday and I’ve found that with hours (and hours, and more hours) to loll around and do nothing, I can’t actually immerse myself in books.

As for the second question, I do – rather magically – have more time to read at the moment, so it’s not merely hypothetical. I’ve begun to stray into everything from Vogue to travel fiction, pre-Shakespearian verse (for the Really Old Classics project), biographies, Time magazine… oh, and of course, blogs. I’ve been reading a lot more blogs lately.

Hm, short post today. Hope everyone has a great weekend :)

9 thoughts on “Time is of the Essence

    1. Sally – That’s what I used to think during exams, but now that I have all the time in the world, I find myself doing other things :)

      Bluestocking – Same! Without even a second thought, I started typing if I had more time to read, but I realised I do!

      Jeane – I am rather enjoying myself. Now that I think about it, I have been reading more than I normally do; I suppose it just feels like less since there’s so much more time in comparison..

      Matthew – wow, that sounds great. One thing I’m loving about all my spare time is that I’m free in the mornings! Mornings = normally exam time. Now, on (sunny) days, I like to go out into the garden and read/blog/write – but we’ve been having a rather long spell of rain lately, so I’ve been reading indoors.

  1. I usually read two hours over breakfast every morning, taking my time and sitting at the sunniest spot at my neighborhood coffee shop. (It’s San Francisco…everyone has their coffee at the cafes). Then I’ll slip in some reading time when no students come for office hour. I’ll read a bit more at home in the evening since I don’t watch much TV.

  2. That’s great you have enough time to read as much as you want. I’m happy with my reading time but wouldn’t complain if magically given more. When I’ve taken vacations and done nothing but laze about, just reading can get boring after while. I can’t believe I said that, but it’s true.

    Robin of mytwoblessings

  3. Same here – I thought I could race through my TBR pile with no problem during my long, long, long break but I’ve been too caught up with other things! There are too many distractions!

Leave a Reply

