Sunday Salon: Rainy Day Reading

Although it’s supposed to be summer here, today it was a chilly seventeen degrees. I dressed warmly enough, but I wasn’t prepared for the rain so I’m drenched right now!

Of course, the best remedy for rainy day blues is a good book, and a good drink. I’ll definitely be settling in next to the heater with a warm mug of hot chocolate, and my new copy of Dickens’ Little Dorrit.

For those of you who regularly read my blog, you’ll know that Dickens and I have had a rather troubled relationship in the past. How do I feel about him now? I won’t give too much away just yet, but I think I’m growing fond of him. Hope everyone has a great Sunday; happy reading to you all :)

PS. I know I should stop signing up for these, but I’ve decided to participate in Becky’s Centuries Challenge. I’ll be reading The Egyptian Book of the Dead, Beowulf, Kusamakura and Paradise Lost. Really, though, I don’t mind if my TBR piles are teetering on the edge of collapse. I realise all of these challenges have time limits, but I see them more as ongoing projects. It’s not like I’m going to discard the lists once the challenges have officially finished.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Rainy Day Reading

  1. I can certainly relate to the good book/hot drink remedy for cold, rainy days (or snowy days, as it is here in the midwestern US).

    I’m not a great fan of Dickens myself, so I applaud you for making the effort to get to know him better :)

  2. I’ve only read a few Dickens, and I’ve enjoyed them. I’ve decided to read all his novels. I have a bunch of Christmas ones waiting for me to start just after Thanksgiving!

  3. Becca – Snowy days; I envy you so much! I mean, Christmas at the beach is fun and all, but it would be nice to have just one Christmas by the fireside with snow falling outside. I expect our Australian winters are quite warm compared to yours…

    Rebecca Reid – yay, it’s comforting to know that I won’t be attempting Dickens on my own. I was starting feel rather apprehensive about the mammoth task ahead of me.

  4. Chain Reader – Hahah! It was pretty nice, but I don’t think I love Dickens enough for it to have been like heaven. Maybe the next one – A Tale of Two Cities – will do the trick… Great Expectations will be last, for sure. There’s just something about that book I can’t stand.

Leave a Reply

