Booker Shortlist

  • The North Clemency
  • Sea of Poppies
  • The Clothes on Their Backs
  • White Tiger
  • The Secret Scripture
  • A Fraction of the Whole

I’m a bit late, aren’t I? Thing is, from a short skim through the longlist, I concluded that this year’s selection didn’t particularly interest me. On second thought, I think I’ll try A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz.

Australian writer? Check. Debut novel? Check. Booker Shortlist? Check.

Yep, I’ll be reading it as soon as I’m done with Les Miserables and Saturday.  I’m also supposed to be reading VW’s To the Lighthouse, but it’s sort of on hiatus for now, because there are so many unread books on my bookshelf! I always buy new books and forget about them – there’s Middlemarch, A Tale of Two Cities, Tess of the D’Urbervilles, Anna Karenina, Portrait of a Lady and What Maisie Knew, just to name a few.

I hereby vow to refrain from purchasing new books, in any shape or form, until I have completed every unread volume on my shelf (I think borrowing from the library is still okay; I can always return them if I don’t have time to finish them)

Leave a Reply

