Procrastinating

What kind of a book are you most comfortable reading? From the classics, probably the Victorian authors – Dickens, the Bronte sisters, and Austen (though strictly speaking, she isn’t Victorian). Anything Harry Potter, of course. Also, biographies and Golden Era mystery novels (Agatha Christie, Dorothy L Sayers etc)

What kind of a book do you love to hate? Any book without meaning – i.e. any book that has been written for the sole purpose of selling copies. I abhor books which aren’t subtle and/or seamless in construction, which sort of explains my abhorrence of most genre fiction. If the plot is predictable, at least write it well, you know?

What was the last book you surprised yourself by liking? Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express

What was the last book you surprised yourself by disliking? Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. I expected to like it; found it dull and hard to plough through. Normally I enjoy ploughing through books, but this one – I’m not sure. Will retry it after exams are over.

What would be the worst book to be marooned on a desert island with? Can’t say. I wouldn’t even mind any of my textbooks – they would become interesting if I was stranded on a desert island. Oh, comic books would be the worst. With novels, every re-read is a new experience – what I mean is that it’s possible to perceive the book in a new light every single time (or at least, notice details that you failed to pick up the first time). Comic books, on the other hand, are most usually devoid of all meaning and after reading the few paltry lines of dialogue a thousand times, I think I would rather use it as firewood.

What book would you take with you if you suspected you might be marooned in the near future? Life of Pi – it would be an entertaining read, and simultaneously, I could use it as a survival guide.

What forces you to read outside your comfort zone? Curiosity

Leave a Reply

