The Mating Season

This is the first time I read Wodehouse, and I quite liked it. I’ve heard it said that his earlier novels are better, but I still enjoyed The Mating Season.

The plot was – I don’t know how to describe it – intricate, yet predictable and rather cliche at the same time. But it was okay, because Wodehouse’s killer sense of humor compensated for it.

Jeeves is probably the best valet character ever created (I don’t quite dare to say ‘the best character ever’ but he comes pretty close). Hugh Laurie (who I later found out played Bertie in some BBC production of Jeeves/Wooster) described Wodehouse as “the funniest writer ever to put words to paper”. I think that’s a disputable statement, but The Mating Season is still an incredibly amusing read, and I’ll be on the lookout for more Wodehouse in the future.

PS I am aware that this is a poorly written review/post, but I’m much too tired to give a damn about sentence structure

Leave a Reply

