LibraryThing recommendations

LibraryThing can generate a list of recommendations based on the books in your library. It’s really quite spot on:

  • Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys (I’ve always wanted to read this book, seeing as Jane Eyre is my NO1 favourite book)
  • Catherine the Great: Love, Sex and Power by Virginia Rounding (<3<3 biographies)
  • Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier (never heard of this one)
  • Skin Hunger by Kathleen Duey (ditto the above)
  • Sabriel (The Abhorsen Trilogy) by Garth Nix (I’ve actually read this, but I’m not really interested in fantasy unless its Harry Potter, so…)
  • Acts of Love: Ancient Greek Poetry from Aphrodite’s Garden by George Economou ed. (sounds good)
  • Through a Glass Darkly by Karleen Koen (I think this is historical fiction; the title sounds vaguely familiar)
  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (I’ve heard great things about this book but I’m ashamed to say that I don’t have a clue as to what it’s about)
  • Howard’s End by E.M. Forster (Haven’t read this, but I like Forster)
  • The Odyssey; a modern sequel by Nikos Kazantzakis
  • Virginia Woolf; A Biography by Quentin Bell (Virginia Woolf fascinates me, and I don’t know much about her life – only a sketchy outline – so this should be an interesting read)
  • Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte (anything by the Bronte sisters is a thumbs-up) 
  • Queen of Fashion: What Marie Antoinette Wore to the Revolution by Caroline Weber (before I was drawn to Marie Antoinette, I was fascinated by her clothes, and her era in general. I feel this is a MUST read)
  • Some Tame Gazelle by Barbara Pym
  • The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber
  • Cryano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand
  • Heathcliff; the return to Wuthering Heights by Lin Haire-Sargeant
  • The Physician by Noah Gordon
  • Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions by Edwin A. Abott

Haven’t heard of the last few, but generally speaking, it’s all very me (I’m a GoodReads person, so I actually signed up for LibraryThings just for this list. Crazy, aren’t i?)

4 thoughts on “LibraryThing recommendations

  1. Hey, this is the LibraryThing guy. Saw this on Google Blog Search. I hope you don’t mind me commenting.

    I’m glad you like it. It’s tricky for someone with your tastes. So many people have “classic” literature left over from high school—but didn’t love it—that it makes for a lot of noise. I hope the daily updates continue to be interesting anyway.

    Have you tried your Unsuggester? Is it spot-on too?

    I read Heathcliff some years ago. Meh.

  2. Hello, thanks for dropping by =]
    Actually, I’m still in high school so ‘classic’ literature is pretty much the only stuff [I have time to read] on a regular basis / get a lot of exposure to. I don’t actually know many contemporary authors, except the ones on the bestseller lists and the ones that win prizes.
    I haven’t tried the Unsuggester yet; I’ll give it a go!

  3. I’ve read Flatland. It’s short and sweet, but very interesting. I’m not a mather person at all, so it’s assessible. It’s on Project Gutenberg, but you really need to read it with the illustrations. How many novels about math do you see? Well, there’s one.

Leave a Reply

