Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

It was only a matter of time before I got around to talking about Harry Potter. Yes, I am still reading The Woman in White (it’s quite addictive; I’m hooked) but I wanted, simultaneously, to read something that would not require excessive brain-use. Hereby enters Harry Potter, the book I read whenever I am not up for a challenge but would still very much like a laugh. It took me three days to read through the entire series, but I am not about to review all seven books. Just the last one.

If I were to rate this book out of five, I would give it a five. Really, I would. In all honesty, I don’t feel that this book is deserving of all its five stars, but everyone is prone to partiality at some point in their lives and Harry Potter is my personal downfall. I think I was seven years old when the first book came out, and I followed the series with delight throughout my entire childhood. It holds a special place in my heart.

Deathly Hallows has its flaws. Oh yes, big, badly punctuated ones with gaping holes. But the more you read into it, the more it kind of fits (perfectly) together and you know that every sort of loose fall-into-place plotline and cheesy piece of dialogue is forgivable, because we all love J K Rowling and we all love Harry Potter. Seriously; Harry grows on people. The epilogue apalled me when I first read it. Horrendous names – what on earth were you thinking, Joanne? Albus Severus? The kid will be traumatised for the rest of his life! Yet even that was endearingly sweet the second time round. By the third time I read it, it moved me to tears.

I’m not even remotely ashamed to admit that I’ve read it three times. Yeah, yeah. So it’s badly written – who honestly cares? I love Harry Potter. I know. It’s so irrational. Five stars all the way.

I wonder if anyone else is a little upset that this is the end of Harry Potter. My life feels strangely empty; devoid of – well, I won’t say all meaning because I’m not quite that sad. Just. You know, devoid of that special place that only the Harry Potter books can fill. Okay, that is quite sad.

I know. I’ve only recently realised my irrational love for the Harry Potter books. Even a few entries back, I was a deadset cynic about the hype surrounding them. My, my. How i’ve changed since the 15th of April (incidentally, only about a month ago!)

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

  1. I love Harry Potter too!….and yet I also agree that it is rather poorly written. I thought the first was most polished; in other words, before she had publishers pressuring her to finish sooner…..

  2. Yes, and I also think she got rather reckless towards the end – she had a “I’ll publish any old [insert word here] and you’ll all buy it anyway, hahah!” sort of attitude.

  3. The first book came out in 1997, right? I was only 10 at that time but only read it when I was 12 or 13! Since then, I’ve been a fan of Harry Potter. But my interest in it faded for a while after Book 5. I only read Book 6 and Book 7 early this month!

    Hahaha! You’re right about Albus Severus’ name. Poor kid. You’re also the first person I came across that mentions the odd name. When I read it in the book, I was like, What??? Are there no other name combinations?

    Albus Severus Potter or ASP. Thank goodness his surname doesn’t begin with an ‘S’.

  4. Josette – that’s exactly what happened to me! I read the fifth book, thought the whole thing was extremely overrated, and didn’t think much of it until the seventh book came out! Then I re-read the whole series, and fell in love again =]

Leave a Reply

